Books1: Gossamer Wings: Books Which Waft

Books1: Gossamer Wings:Books Which Waft

In my obsession with,  as one roommate put it many years ago, “Putting things to use”, (“Debra, one thing I really admire about you is how you put things to use!”), I set aside that which I don’t use or recycle…and create from it other things.

As I continue my exploration and experimentation with bookmaking as a vehicle of expression, transformation and communication, I find myself playing with the simplicity of stitching, and layering materials in new ways to capture or transmit a feeling. The materials themselves are layered with meaning…

WEB1Gossamer Wings: brown paper, glassine (I think…this semi-sheer material just sort of came my way and I responded to its expressive potential), paint chips, a piece of found fabric (at Trash for Teaching in LA),  a piece of “scrapbook” paper from a pad, (from Michaels, I believe), and 10lb 100% natural  hemp cord.

WEB2It opens gently.  It wafts.

WEB1Maggie’s: more glassine (I think…again material that wafted to me from SAG…advertising academy award film nominees, because my husband Mark Henry Samuel is an actor, and in the Union…), exhibition announcements from old friend and painting teacher in France, the incredible artist Maggie Siner, and a brochure for architect Richard Neutra‘s VDL Studio and Residences. The accordion/concertina folded spine, and “fan” pages…create a…fan.  Which wafts.

WEB1PlaceMat: repurposed placemat with stitching, ledger paper from another era, and 10lb 100% natural  hemp cord.

WEB4The placemat cover provides stability, the lighter pages waft. Almost waft.  A slight breeze is required.

Waft  (not waffle) on!

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://artissima.wordpress.com/2014/11/19/gossamer-wings-books-which-waft/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

